Frequently Asked Questions
What conditions qualify for a Virginia Medical Cannabis Card?
Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
Chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy
CRPS (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome Type II)
Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) or Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
Sickle Cell Anemia
Terminal illness with life expectancy of less than one year
Traumatic brain injury (TBI)
Other health conditions as determined by Healthcare Provider
What is a Medical Cannabis Certification?
The first step for patients interested in a Virginia Medical Cannabis Card is to obtain a medical cannabis certification from a registered healthcare practitioner (We Provide this Step!).
How much does it cost to register for a VA Medical Cannabis Card?
The fee is $50 for each application submitted per patient and $25 for each parent/legal guardian or registered agent. The application fee is nonrefundable and is not included in the medical certification fee. Registration for a Medical Cannabis Card in Virginia is now optional!
How do I contact Virginia Board of Pharmacy?
Phone: (804) 367-4444
Fax (804) 527-4472
Virginia Board of Pharmacy
9960 Mayland Drive
Henrico, VA 23233-1463
Can I be fired for using medical cannabis?
Limited employment protections for registered medical cannabis patients take effect July 1, 2021.
§ 40.1-27.4. Discipline for employee's medicinal use of cannabis oil prohibited.
A. As used in this section, "cannabis oil" means the same as that term is defined in § 54.1-3408.3.
B. No employer shall discharge, discipline, or discriminate against an employee for such employee's lawful use of cannabis oil pursuant to a valid written certification issued by a practitioner for the treatment or to eliminate the symptoms of the employee's diagnosed condition or disease pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3.
C. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection B, nothing in this section shall (i) restrict an employer's ability to take any adverse employment action for any work impairment caused by the use of cannabis oil or to prohibit possession during work hours, (ii) require an employer to commit any act that would cause the employer to be in violation of federal law or that would result in the loss of a federal contract or federal funding, or (iii) require any defense industrial base sector employer or prospective employer, as defined by the U.S. Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, to hire or retain any applicant or employee who tests positive for tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in excess of 50 ng/ml for a urine test or 10 pg/mg for a hair test.